top of page
  • Writer's pictureFrancisco Gajardo

Work in Progress: Update on P5 PlayStoreVIZ

During the last week I have been working trying to improve my Play Store Visualization project. The main focus has been to present the information in an interactive UI where the user could visualize the information selecting fields and getting different results on the canvas related to his or her choices. However at the same time I've tried to keep it simple, and don't overuse P5 feature just because.


Taking this into account I summarize what I did comparing tomy previous update and what are the goals for the next and final update:


- I opted for a kind of dashboard interface, where on the left I have a Control Panel from which the user can select what to display and where he or she could find an informative summary (Apps counting).

-The drop-down list contains the Top 10 categories in terms of number of Apps. This was the best way I found to include the category field into my viusalization, I avoided to include an exhaustive list with 33 elements.

-The slider element is not as I would like it to be, I would have prefered a slider with 2 values (min and max, as the ones available in R Shiny) however this kind of elements do not exist in the p5.dom library.

- The Colouring buttons enable the user to visualize 2 more features from the dataset, Payment Type and Content Rating, I still need to work on implementing explanatory legends and choose the best color pattern for each variable.

-The count information is interactive, it changes depending the selected fields from the Control Panel. However I still intend to add some count information relative to the area of the plot where the mouse is over. Currently I'm working on this feature and it should be the last major modification to my code.

-Additional to the 'count' text I intend to add bubbles which sum the amount of apps for every box (rating vs size) of the plot. However, this feature will be eventually implemented depending on the time it demands.

-Relative to the styling, I incorporate to my code some HTML DOM objects, which have been stylized using CSS elements, a useful feature contained in P5. However, as you can notice, I have had some issues relative to the size of these object when the window's dimensions change. It's crucial to solve this issue to implement the mouse-position interactive feature I previously introduced.

-Some of the elements used on the code during this las week were: createElement, createSelector, createSlider, mouseOver, html just to mention some of them.







5 views0 comments
bottom of page